12 Facts about Red Heads…

I love my red hair. My Dad & Mom both have very strong lines of red heads throughout the generations. Both of my brothers are also red heads. But none my brothers or my children have red hair. There are 9 children in total and not one red head in the bunch. Genetics are crazy and amazing… right!!!  As a red head I can personally tell you that when you see another red head you feel a connection. I always notice red heads and always compliment them if they are children. Because being a red headed child is hard. Kids are mean and will find anything that makes you different & pick on you. But now as an adult I like that I’m different. My pale skin and freckles stand out and people notice. It is crazy how many people stop me and compliment my hair color. Those compliments make my day every time ❤

12 Facts About Red Heads...-Red-Hair-Ginger-Red-Hair-Facts-Blog-https___redheadedhousewife.wordpress.com_2016_06_28_12-facts-abo

  • It’s estimated around 1-2% world’s population has natural red hair. That’s a small number, but it represents a very proud population.  WoW, we are rare 😀
  • The one specific gene responsible for natural red hair the melanocortin 1 receptor, also known as MC1R. MC1R is a recessive gene and must be passed on from both mother and father. Explains why my kids don’t have red hair

 

  • Everything we love about being redheads comes from this mutation: ginger hair color (in varying shades), pale skin, and freckles EVERYWHERE. I have all of these 😉

30880d2e11ff192bcb9420e043653a5e

  • Redhead require more anesthesia and are harder to sedate than others. We need about 20% more anesthesia to prevent us from waking up mid-surgery.
  • Red Heads bruise more easily.  I can totally attest for that.
  • Red Heads don’t gray! We go from red to rosy-blondish to white. I didn’t know this till recently.
  • Having pale skin may mean that redheads burn more easily when exposed to UV rays, but their paleness can serve as an advantage.
  • Redheads can’t absorb sufficient Vitamin D due to low concentrations of eumelanin in their body. This may sound like bad news, but this lower melanin-concentration means that gingers can cleverly produce their own Vitamin D within their body when exposed to low light conditions. We tend to avoid sunshine and tanning is impossible! We burn very easily and do not tan. We are pale white or burnt red and then peel.
  • Red Heads are more sensitive to pain. A 2009 study found that redheads were more anxious about dental visits, had more fear that they would experience pain during a visit, and were more than twice as likely to avoid dental care than those without the MC1R gene. This is me to a T. I have a intense fear of the dentist 😦
  • Red hair and blue eyes is the rarest combination in the worldWho Knew 😉

779a289aa4e8fd3addbbb64b6bbcdfed

 

  • Red hair is thicker than other colors. Each strand of red hair is generally thicker than other shades which compensates for the fact that redheads have less hair. Apparently they have – on average – 90,000 strands while blondes have 110,000, and brunettes have 140,000 – I have been told my entire life that my hair is super thick. Especially whenever I get my hair cut. 😀

144af13acc9113dcf347f18b04304b55

  • People with red hair are more likely to be left-handed

    Recessive traits often happen in pairs so commonly people with the gene for red hair also possess the trait for left-handedness. – Not me, I’m a righty 🙂

Statistics Found Here  &  Here & Here & Here

50781678855716580e923aa28f267f7c

Hope you learned something new about red heads ❤ I may be a bit biased but Red Heads are pretty awesome and have lots of quirks to enjoy & fall in love with. ❤

xw95661

 

Please Leave a Comment

